Moving Forward

20170518_142717

Let me state plainly (in case you missed my bio), I am a Follower of Jesus of Nazareth, Christ, who saved me from a MISERABLE life and the most terrible end. I’ve known Jesus by name since I was a small child, but didn’t choose to fully surrender to Him until I was in my mid-twenties. Since then, about three decades, I’ve been to hell and back, following Him WHEREVER He leads and He’s never failed me. NOT ONCE. It’s been HARD. I won’t mince words. Some days and seasons have been filled with treachery and nearly complete abandonment (by most family and friends), but the Lord Jesus has guided each step of the way. He’s faithful and that’s why I’m here today. And why I set up this blog as Amour Thana Conqueror. I am “A More Than A Conqueror” and I want to communicate that it’s all about that deep love relationship–Amour. I like to play with words, so it worked for me:

For DECADES we’ve been hearing, “You oughta write a book!” My spouse and I have never felt like that was what we were supposed to do. Who would read it???

Recently, we were reunited with a Sister we’d met about 9 years ago and in catching up with her when she said the same thing to us, I found myself droning my same old response. “Who would read it???” It’s become my “broken record.” But unlike everyone else we’ve heard the encouragement from she didn’t stop there. When I balked at the idea of writing our experiences down, she reminded me that Believers within the Body of Christ are in desperate need of exhortation and encouragement to follow hard after Christ, no matter the personal cost. Especially now.

We’d just been talking about George Mueller a few minutes earlier; George has been a mentor from the distant past to us for the last twenty years. If you are unfamiliar with him, he kept a diary of answered prayer and explanations about why he chose certain courses in his life AND he was responsible for revolutionizing and reforming the orphanage system in England. He was not a wealthy or worldly powerful man, yet God heard his cry — to care for orphans — and met the needs to carry out the vision He’d given him. George’s diary eventually became an encouragement to many other Believers (read ME) to trust Jesus with EVERY moment of life and to lean hard on Him for every decision and action.  When this Sister of ours spoke, I knew it was time.

I would like to state plainly here that I am not hiding behind a Pen Name for my own sake; one of the things that has always held me back from sharing more of my life in a public forum is that I KNOW that the things I need to share could have devastating effects for other people I love–I have family and other loved ones who have not chosen to forsake all to follow Christ and it would be terribly unloving of me to involve them here without their express permission.  As it is quite unlikely that permission would be granted–remember I did say I’ve been to hell and back a few times–a pen name seems the best course.

“Thus says the LORD who made it, the LORD who formed it to establish it (the LORD is His name): ‘Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.’

Jeremiah 33:2-3 NKJV

Leave a Reply

